Rasheed Wallace: "And One" Less Technical Foul

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Rasheed Wallace’s recent ejection from the game against Philadelphia has created a lot of talk about Sheed’s early technical foul troubles. After the ejection on Friday night Rasheed was at number ten, only six away from the magical number of sixteen, which results in a one game suspension for each technical after the magical number. We all know it is not a great situation to be in, but some good news came from the NBA league office today. According to CSNNE the league office has rescinded one of Rasheed’s technical fouls.

After the NBA decided to impose no additional fines or suspension following his outburst ( and ejection) from Friday’s loss to Philadelphia, CSNNE.com has learned that one of Wallace’s technical fouls has been rescinded.

The one in question came on Nov. 29 at Miami.

Near the end of the first quarter, Wallace made a shot in which he felt he was fouled. After the made basket, he yelled, ‘And one!’

That’s when official Bennett Salvatore called a technical foul against Wallace.

NBA Names New Foul After Rasheed Wallace

Rasheed is now at nine tech’s on the season, which is still over halfway to the magical number of sixteen. Is this a problem? Yes, it is a huge problem. Look at the Philadelphia game if you need a quick reference. When Rasheed is missing the Celtics lack depth at the center position. We saw that Friday night when the Celtics had to resort to Brian Scalabrine and Shelden Williams as their big men off the bench. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good thing they are there. But neither one of them can come in and bring what Sheed brings us.

So was this a good move by the NBA to rescinded Rasheed’s technical foul? Yes. This technical foul called on Rasheed was unwarranted, and was just another example of NBA referees taking a players reputation too far. If you watched the game against Miami you were probably wondering the same thing I was after the call.  What the hell did he do wrong?  The truthful answer was nothing, and the league made the right call here. Congratulations David Stern, your league finally did something ethically right.

Photos via http://www.theonion.com/content/from_print/nba_names_new_foul_after and Brian Babineau/NBAE via Getty Images

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

%d bloggers like this:
comments powered by Disqus